Complete Story


ACEC Ohio Transportation Committee Update

ODOT Announces Local Distributions to Cities, Villages and Townships 

On Wednesday, April 3rd, Governor Mike DeWine signed a new 10.5-cent gas tax increase and a 19-cent diesel fuel tax increase into law that will generate $865 million in new funding for infrastructure improvements. In addition, the transportation budget bill (H.B. 62) also added registration fees for electric and hybrid vehicles at $200 and $100 respectively along with a permissive $5 license tag fee allowed at the county level raising the maximum fee levied from $25 to $30.  Indexing the gas tax was not included in the final bill.

Click here to see estimated motor fuel revenue (MTF) for local governments in Ohio by ODOT district. The average city and village will receive an increase of 62.5% in MFT revenue from the new bill. County engineers will receive an additional $1.53 million or 62.8% increase annually. Lastly, townships will increase on average 67 percent.  All local funds will be locally administered.

ODOT continues to work on their funding information but we do know there will be projects added to the May programmatic.  The preservation program will be restored and $200 million per year will go into the Major New/Safety programs for five years, generating consultant projects.  ODOT estimates their capital program over the next five years will be a steady $2 billion.  Overall, the gas tax increase generates a 24% increase in revenue for ODOT.

ODOT announced their top executive staff yesterday, below please find the complete list. 

Assistant Directors:

Business & Human Resources/Chief of Staff – Pam Vest-Boratyn
Engineering Policy/Chief Engineer – Lloyd MacAdam
Field Operations – Kirk Slusher

District Deputy Directors:

District 1– Chris Hughes
District 2– Pat McColley
District 3– Bob Weaver
District 4– Gery Noirot
District 5– Jason Sturgeon
District 6– Mitch Blackford
District 7– Randy Chevalley
District 8– Tammy Campbell
District 9– Mike Dombrowski
District 10– Darla Miller
District 11– Tom Corey
District 12– John Picuri

Division Deputy Directors:

Communications – Erica Hawkins
Chief Legal – Jodi Elsass-Locker
Human Resources – Brian Brown
Finance – Sara Downs
Facilities – Steve Masters
Planning – Jennifer Townley
Engineering – Dave Slatzer
Operations – Dean Otworth
Construction – Brad Jones
Information Technology – Charles Ash
Opportunity, Diversity & Inclusion – Lauren Purdy

Central Office Senior Leadership:

DriveOhio Executive Director – Jim Barna
Rail Commission Executive Director – Matt Dietrich
Deputy Director for Legislative Affairs – Will O’Gorman

Printer-Friendly Version

Advancing the Business of Engineering