Complete Story


Big contingent of Buckeyes attends national convention, lobby Ohio members of Congress

The largest contingent of ACEC Ohio members in recent memory traveled to Washington last week to attend the national Council's convention and visit with members of Ohio's Congressional delegation.

Ohio's contingent of 21 members was led by the Council's three officers, President Richard J. Iafelice (CT Consultants, Inc.), Vice President Lynn Miggins (KS Associates, Inc.) and Secretary-Treasurer Michael E. Duffey (SSOE Group).

During the four-day convention, ACEC Ohio members visited with the following members of Congress and their staff: Democratic Senator Sherrod Brown; Republican Senator Rob Portman; House Speaker John Boehner (R-West Chester); Rep. Bob Latta (R-Bowling Green); Rep. Jim Renacci (R-Alliance); Rep. Mike Turner (R-Dayton); Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-Toledo); and Rep. Tim Ryan (D-Youngstown).

On the evening of April 21, a group of 10 Council members visited with Congressmen Dave Joyce (R-Russell Twp.) and Bob Gibbs (R-Lakeview) at the National Republican Club on Capitol Hill.

In their meetings with legislators and staff, ACEC Ohio members addressed four key issues:

  • the economic importance of enacting a long-term transportation funding bill;
  • comprehensive tax reform, including continuing to allow engineering firms to use the cash method of accounting;
  • streamlining of the federal design/build process to reduce the cost to private sector companies and federal agencies;
  • adoption of comprehensive energy legislation that will encourage domestic production and extend production tax credits for renewable energy sources.

A host of outstanding speakers addressed the convention, including General Stanley McChrystal, former commander of U.S. forces in Afghanistan, and Jake Tapper, chief Washington correspondent for CNN.

Latta photo

Congressman Bob Latta (center) hosts a contingent of ACEC Ohio members who were in Washington last week for the Council's Annual Convention.  From left to right are: ACEC Ohio members Michael E. Duffey (SSOE Group); Steven R. Bergman (Mannik & Smith Group); Latta; Thomas R. Uhler (TTL Associates, Inc.); and Lynn S. Miggins (KS Associates, Inc.).



Printer-Friendly Version

Advancing the Business of Engineering