

A National Infrastructure Agenda

ISSUE

Investing in the nation's critical infrastructure continues to attract strong, bipartisan support in Congress, and is a key part of the President's agenda. Congress has a unique opportunity in 2018 to pass major infrastructure bills to modernize the nation's transportation, water, energy, and communications systems and enhance U.S. competitiveness in the global marketplace. ACEC urges Congress to enact a bold infrastructure agenda that includes (a) robust funding for core federal programs, including a long-term fix for the Highway Trust Fund; (b) innovative financing mechanisms to promote Public-Private Partnerships (P3s); and (c) responsible regulatory reforms to facilitate efficient project delivery.

BACKGROUND

Our nation's infrastructure remains severely deficient and underfunded. According to the U.S. DOT, improving the condition and performance of highways and bridges requires \$142 billion annually from all levels of government; we currently invest approximately \$105 billion. For public transit, current investment totals \$17 billion per year, while the cost of preservation and expansion needs is 50% higher. The EPA and the Government Accountability Office (GAO) have documented over \$600 billion in funding shortfalls over the next 20 years for water and wastewater systems. Pipelines and electricity transmission needs total \$30 billion annually over the next 3 to 5 years.

A national infrastructure strategy should put emphasis on investment in existing federal infrastructure programs – such as Federal-Aid highway and transit programs, the Airport and Airway Trust Fund, the EPA State Revolving Fund (SRF) and USDA programs for water and wastewater, and projects to improve the nation's ports and waterways, to name a few. Restoring long-term solvency to the Highway Trust Fund should be a particular priority. The user fee was last raised in 1993 and has lost 40% of its purchasing power. More than \$140 billion has been transferred into the HTF since 2008 because of the failure to address systemic funding shortfalls with real revenue solutions.

Private investment also has a role in bridging the funding gap, and the nation's infrastructure strategy should include incentives to promote public-private partnerships, such as tax-preferred financing (municipal bonds and private activity bonds) and the expansion of existing loan programs (TIFIA, WIFIA, and RRIF).

Congress should balance the new investment and financing mechanisms with commonsense regulatory reforms to reduce unnecessary project delays while still ensuring environmental quality. These reforms should include provisions to empower a single lead agency responsible for securing one federal decision, merge sequential and duplicative federal reviews, establish enforceable scheduling checkpoints, and delegate more responsibility where appropriate to state agencies.

KEY POINTS

Increase Investment – grow core federal programs and expand financing options to leverage additional state, local, and private investment.

Fix the Highway Trust Fund – provide new, sustainable revenue for transportation programs.

Accelerate Project Permitting - advance responsible, commonsense regulatory reforms.

Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, & Transportation

Senate Committee on Environment & Public Works

Republicans

John Thune (SD) Chairman

Roger Wicker Roy Blunt Ted Cruz Deb Fischer Jerry Moran Dan Sullivan Dean Heller James Inhofe Mike Lee Ron Johnson Shelley Moore Capito Cory Gardner Todd Young

Democrats

Bill Nelson (FL) Ranking Member

Maria Cantwell

Amy Klobuchar Richard Blumenthal Brian Schatz Edward Markey Tom Udall Gary Peters Tammy Baldwin Tammy Duckworth Maggie Hassan Catherin Cortez Masto Jon Tester

Republicans

John Barrasso (WY) Chairman

James Inhofe
Shelley Moore Capito
John Boozman
Roger Wicker
Deb Fischer
Jerry Moran
Mike Rounds
Joni Ernst
Dan Sullivan
Richard Shelby

Democrats

Thomas Carper (DE) Ranking Member

Benjamin Cardin Bernard Sanders Sheldon Whitehouse Jeff Merkley Kirsten Gillibrand Cory Booker Edward Markey Tammy Duckworth Chris Van Hollen

House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee

Republicans

Bill Shuster (PA) Chairman

Don Young John Duncan Frank LoBiondo Sam Graves Duncan Hunter Eric "Rick" Crawford Lou Barletta Blake Farenthold Bob Gibbs Daniel Webster Jeff Denham Thomas Massie Mark Meadows Scott Perry Rodney Davis Mark Sanford Rob Woodall Tod Rokita John Katko Brian Babin Garret Graves Barbara Comstock David Rouzer Mike Bost Randy Weber Doug LaMalfa Bruce Westerman Lloyd Smucker Paul Mitchell John Faso Drew Ferguson

Brian Mast Jason Lewis

Democrats

Peter DeFazio (OR) Ranking Member

Eleanor Holmes Norton Eddie Bernice Johnson Elijah Cummings Rick Larsen Michael Capuano Grace Napolitano Dan Lipinski Steve Cohen Albio Sires John Garamendi Hank Johnson, Jr. André Carson Richard Nolan Dina Titus Sean Patrick Maloney Elizabeth Esty Lois Frankel Cheri Bustos Jared Huffman Julia Brownley Frederica Wilson Donald Payne Alan Lowenthal Brenda Lawrence Mark DeSaulnier Stacey Plaskett